WF Summer 2011: Kotobukiya

Kotobukiya has always been something of a “tweener” for me; a company that doesn’t exactly excel but delivers some solid pieces. This WF is no less different as they have some interesting figures, but none that borders on the level of masterpieces.

Takamachi Nanoha “School Uniform Ver.” from “Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha The MOVIE 1st”

At this point, whatever Nanoha figures any company releases, I’m no longer surprised. The franchise apparently has no signs of dying especially with another movie coming up. This school uniform version of the titular character does look quite cute however. I’m just hoping that they don’t color her hair in the same burnt brown/orange tint as their previous Nanohas.

Akira and Shiki from “Togainu no Chi”

I have positively no inclinations to watching or reading or playing yaoi but fangirls should be excited for these ones. After doing 1/10 exclusive figures of these two waaaaaay back, Kotobukiya’s having another shot at them, this time in a more generous 1/8 scale. Of course, increasing the size means there’s more PVC skin to go touching around thus fueling the raging hormones of fujoshi everywhere. And oh f*ck, are those boxers I’m seeing!?

Marisa Kirisame from “Touhou Project”

Ok I take back what I said about no Kotobukiya figures standing out. This one’s one of the figures I’m most excited about, not only from Koto but in the ENTIRE Wonder Festival Summer 2011. I’ve already got the Reimu counterpart of this one ordered, and Marisa should go along spectacularly with her. Two things I’m a sucker for: frills and rainbow colored stars (fabulous).

Aragaki Ayase from the anime “OreImo”

Of all manufacturers, Kotobukiya seems to be most in love with OreImo and they continue their assault with the yandelicious Ayase. As with Kuroneko, she’s in a very static pose (though I suppose Ayase wouldn’t be doing flying kicks anytime soon) and I’m quite certain that she’d be priced around the same too. While many did enjoy OreImo, only the true diehards would get this.

Kousaka Kirino -memories- from the anime “OreImo”

Following up on their earlier Kirino, Kotobukiya comes out with another version, this time in summer clothes. In my opinion, this one is much better. While I’m usually favored towards figures that follow closer to the source material, the face of the earlier Kirino left me with a bad taste in the mouth unlike this one, which is a much better effort from them.

Erio Touwa from the anime “Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko”

There’s also plans on making a figure of the popular Erio from “Denpa Onna.” I’m sure a lot of fans are excited for this.

“Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai”

Didn’t see this one coming, but “Ano Hana” is also getting the figure treatment. Hopefully they decide to do a Menma (almost surely but still hoping) and probably Anaru. No Yukiatsu tranny please.

Takamura Yui from "Muv-Luv Alternative Total Eclipse"

Kotobukiya’s also had a history of releasing character figures even before its anime is aired. It happened last year with Makise Kurisu and this year it’s happening again. Takamura Yui certainly looks appealing especially to those with ecchi tastes. The anime is said to be an alternate world version of the popular Muv-Luv Alternative franchise so we’ll have to wait and see what Yui’s role in it would be.

Reia Adolf from “Daiteikoku”

Here’s a character I have no clue about but I’m guessing she’s also a character from a yet unreleased anime or game like Yui above. She doesn’t look all that spectacular though.

At this point, I’ve given up trying to know who this is as the ToHeart franchise has had so many releases and alternate universes already for me to count. I’m not a fan of the franchise but I’m sure tons of merchandise for it means there’s a market for them, right?

Neris from “Shining Hearts”
Lorna Murasame and Rufina from “Shining Hearts”

Much like how Kotobukiya capitalized on Tony Taka’s “Shining Wind” series, they’re launching a new wave of figures based on his “Shining Hearts” character designs. I’m not sure what the storyline behind “Shining Hearts” is, but what I’m sure is that they look quite similar to Taka’s previous works (it’s almost as if you can’t distinguish them from one another if not for the clothing). Based on the figures produced by Koto, they do give off the feel that there’s not one spectacular among them, but you do get value for your money.

There was one other figure which caught my eye from Koto’s booth but once again I have no idea who she is. Maybe someone can enlighten me on this? Best guess I have is that she’s from an eroge.

Images taken from Hobby Stock Blog.

2 thoughts on “WF Summer 2011: Kotobukiya

  1. Pingback: Alphamax Towa Erio Fascinates, Wants You to Investigate Her | Team Onii-chan! Figure Blog

  2. Pingback: C3xHOBBY Event Roundup: Same Old, Same Old… Only In Technicolor | Team Onii-chan! Figure Blog

Leave a Reply

